THE VICTORIAN HIGH PLAINS SYMPOSIUM

14 September 1961

FOREWORD

One of the functions of the Royal Society of Victoria is to assist integration between the many sciences. In keeping with this aim, the Symposium sought to bring together available scientific information on the Victorian High Plains, and to provide an opportunity for discussion. To a large extent this was achieved. Also the lack of scientific data in many fields was made clear, thus providing an encour-

agement to further research.

For the purposes of the Symposium, the Victorian High Plains was defined as those areas of Victoria above the winter snowline, which is approximately the upper limit of the wet schlerophyll forest. It comprises the alpine and subalpine zones, which are above the montane zone. Geomorphologically, the high plains thus defined include both the high plateaux (which are part of an early Tertiary terrain), and the contiguous areas of dissected plateau country. The definition includes the Bogong High Plains, the Benison High Plains, the Howitt High Plains (also called the Snowy High Plains), the Dargo High Plains, the Mt Buffalo Plateau, and the Baw Baw Plateau.